loaded cauliflower casserole

I’m posting this cauliflower recipe in memory of my good friend Kathy. Those of you who read zazamataz.com will remember her as Minnesota Nice. Kathy died suddenly a couple weeks ago. It’s hard for me to sum up how much she meant to me in a few words. She was my sister. I’m not sure Kathy ever met anyone who didn’t become her sister or brother. She was just special.

We shared a love for food and cooking. I think her cauliflower recipes were probably healthier than this one is, but I think she would have enjoyed it. It’s very tasty – bacon! – and low carb so it helps keep my blood sugar in range.

Here’s to you, my friend. I didn’t have you as a sister anywhere near long enough.

loaded cauli

Loaded Cauliflower Casserole

I’m not sure where I saw this, but it wasn’t a recipe. It was a short video clip. So, this is my attempt to replicate the idea – and in many ways it’s still not a recipe. It’s more…… simple directions.

1 medium head of cauliflower, cut into florets
about 1 cup sour cream
about 6 ounces shredded cheese (I used Monterey jack, you could use cheddar or maybe gouda or swiss)
6 slices thick cut bacon, cooked medium crisp, cooled and crumbled
salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 375°F Choose an oven safe dish to fit the cauliflower. I think mine is 1 1/2 quarts.

The clip looked like it used raw cauliflower. That would work, I think. I like roasted cauliflower but my stomach doesn’t care for it these days. So I steamed mine with well salted water. I do think the recipe is going to work better for you if you at least par-cook the cauliflower for a few minutes.

Allow to cool. If you like, stir in about a tablespoon of the bacon fat.

Mix in sour cream gently. Sprinkled 2/3 of the shredded cheese and bacon over the cauliflower. It probably won’t need much salt but add some freshly ground black pepper to taste. Fold. Top with the remaining cheese and bacon.

Bake for 45-60 minutes, until heated through and top is lightly golden brown.

2 thoughts on “loaded cauliflower casserole”

  1. I’m so sorry to hear about your friend. I remember Minnesota Nice. She commented every time. I love cauliflower, this would be lovely on a cooler evening. Thanks for sharing her recipe.

    Like

Leave a Reply

