comfort food

pbj and pc

I told Hannah last week – only a little tongue in cheek – that I would give her a recipe for one of my favorite comfort foods. I didn’t have any of the ingredients at the time because it’s better, over all, if I don’t have them around the house.

But once in a while, I just gotta have that peanut butter and jam and potato chip sandwich!

I ought to feed the rest of the potato chips to the critters. Still, that can’t be healthy for them.

PBJ and potato chip sandwich

Ingredients

worthless white bread
peanut butter (choosy Zazzys choose Jif)
jam of your choice (in this case, hot pepper jelly)
classic potato chips

I like a healthy shmear of peanut butter on one piece of bread and a light coating of jam on the other. I put the potato chips on the jam side then smush the peanut butter side on top of them.

Flip the sandwich to serve peanut butter side down.

As it happens, I’m not the only person that does this to peanut butter sandwiches. According to Epicurean.com, Jeff Smith, aka the Frugal Gourmet, likes his peanut butter sandwiches with potato chips inside as well.

Leave a comment